Building 442, originally the Non-Commissioned Officers' Open Mess, was built in 1941 at the end of Mills Boulevard, a radial leading to the NCO housing area at Hickam Air force Base. Over the years, the building's cross-shaped form was obscured by later additions, including a large warehouse-like ballroom. Its two lanai were permanently enclosed. When the Base Historic Preservation Officer discovered that, beneath its accretions, the building's original form was still intact, the Air Force included it in the renovation and provatization of military housing by Hickam Communities, LLC, and Mason Architects restored it to its original form for use as a Community Center.
The building was designed by Jozef B.A. Van Oort of the U.S. Army Quartermaster Corps, in accord with Hickam Field's 1935 Master Plan for a spacious semi-circle of residential areas.
Its architecture is a blend of:
In Mason Architects's restoration:
The Community Center is at the end of Mills Boulevard, a major radial , and is cross-shaped in form.